The Capitol Beat: September 4

September 5, 2018

Update on 2018 Gubernatorial, CT General Assembly Races

Oz Griebel, former Republican gubernatorial candidate from Simsbury and regional Hartford business leader, and Democratic lawyer Monte Frank of Newtown, have petitioned and secured the requisite number of signatures of CT voters to be placed on the statewide ballot in November’s general election.

The Griebel-Frank ticket will not appear on the Independent Party’s line on the ballot, however. Instead, the unaffiliated, bipartisan team will be listed simply as “Griebel Frank for CT.” This is because the Independent Party caucus cross-endorsed Republican gubernatorial nominee Bob Stefanowski and the rest of the GOP candidates for statewide constitutional offices at its August 26th convention. The Independent endorsement gives Stefanowski two lines at the top of the ballot.

Meanwhile, the picture of who will be the candidates for open seats in the House and Senate races in the November general election was decided by voters at the August 14th primary. Following are the results:

Senate Open Seats with 2018 Candidates:

District Outgoing Incumbent Towns Democratic Candidate Republican Candidate
9th Senator Paul Doyle (D) Cromwell, Middletown, Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield Rep. Matt Lesser Ed Charamut
12th Senator Ted Kennedy, Jr. (D) Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison and North Branford Christine Cohen Adam Greenberg
14th Senator Gayle Slossberg (D) Milford, Orange, West Haven and Woodbridge James Maroney Rep. Pam Staneski
16th Senator Joe Markley (R) Cheshire, Prospect, Southington, Waterbury and Wolcott Vickie Nardello Rep. Rob Sampson
23rd Senator Ed Gomes (D) Bridgeport and Stratford Dennis Bradley John Rodriguez
33rd Senator Art Linares (R) Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Deep River, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook Norman Needleman Rep. Melissa Ziobron
35th Senator Tony Guglielmo (R) Ashford, Chapin, Coventry, Eastford, Ellington, Hampton, Pomfret, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Willington and Woodstock John Perrier Dan Champagne

House Open Seats with 2018 Candidates:

District Outgoing Incumbent Town(s) Democratic Candidate Republican Candidate
12th Rep. Kelly Juleson-Scopino (D) Manchester Geoff Luxenberg Thomas Tierney
13th Rep. Mark Tweedie (R) Glastonbury and Manchester Jason Doucette Jennifer Fiereck
17th Rep. Tim LeGeyt (R) Avon and Canton Eleni Kavros Degraw Leslee Hill
29th Rep. Antonio Guerrera (D) Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield Kerry Szeps Wood Andrew Lanciotto
31st Rep. Prasad Srinivasan (R) Glastonbury Jill Barry Lillian Tanski
34th Rep. Melissa Ziobron (R) Colchester, East Haddam and East Hampton Theresa Govert Irene Haines
43rd Rep. Diana Urban (D) North Stonington and Stonington Kate Rotella Shawn Mastroianni
45th Rep. Kevin Skulczyck (R) Griswold, Lisbon, Plainfield, Sterling and Voluntown Steven Mikutel Brian Lanoue
51st Rep. Danny Rovero (D) Killingly, Putnam and Thompson Larry Giroh, Jr. Ricky Hayes
73rd Rep. Jeffery Berger (D) Waterbury Ronald Napoli Steven Giacomi
80th Rep. Rob Sampson (R) Southington and Wolcott David Borzellino Gale Mastrofrancesco
100th Rep. Matt Lesser (D) Middletown Quentin Phipps Anthony Gennaro
102nd Rep. Lonnie Reed (D) Branford Robin Comey Robert Imperato
104th Rep. Linda Gentile (D) Ansonia and Derby Kara Rochelle Joseph Jaumann
119th Rep. Pam Staneski (R) Milford and Orange Ellen Beatty Kathy Kennedy
140th Rep. Bruce Morris (D) Norwalk Travis Simms John Flynn
147th Rep. William Tong (D) Darien and Stamford Matt Blumenthal Anzelmo Graziosi

Finally, as the summer cools down and the campaigns heat up, we will keep you apprised of any new developments. Meantime, the following is a schedule of the five gubernatorial debates that have been scheduled to date in which Stefanowski and Lamont (and perhaps Oz Griebel, but that has not been confirmed) will participate:

  • Sept. 12 sponsored by the New London Day and WTNH.
  • Sept. 17 sponsored by the CT Realtors.
  • Sept. 26 sponsored by the University of Connecticut and WFSB.
  • Oct. 18 hosted by the Connecticut Association of Broadcasters.
  • Oct. 30 sponsored by the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities.
See All Posts